2022 Book Prize Competition

ASAP: The Association for the Study of the Arts of the Present invites nominations and self-nominations for its annual Book Prize, awarded to a scholarly book written by an ASAP member that has made the most significant contribution to the study of the arts of the present during the calendar year 2021. Books with a 2022 publication date must wait for the following year, even if released in 2021. Any English-language book that addresses the contemporary arts published anywhere in the world may be considered for this award.

The members of the Book Prize Committee this year are:

  • Tatiana Flores, Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey

Past President of ASAP & Chair of the Book Prize Committee

  • Joshua Javier Guzm├ín, University of California, Los Angeles

ASAP Executive Committee Member-At-Large

  • Heather Houser, University of Texas, Austin
  • Erina Duganne, Texas State University


  • Authors must be members of ASAP at the time of submission.
  • Current members of the ASAP Executive Committee are not eligible.
  • The award is for scholarly work rather than creative production (creative writing, original artwork, etc.), though we understand that submissions may challenge these boundaries.
  • Jointly authored monographs and exhibition catalogues will be considered.
  • Textbooks, anthologies, collections by multiple authors, bound editions of journals, and books in an edition other than the first will not be considered.
  • Self-published work is not eligible for the award.
  • All submissions must be peer-reviewed publications.
  • Books must be in English.
  • Publisher, third-party, and self-nominations are encouraged.
  • There are no limits on the number of books that one publisher can submit.
  • Any issues not considered in this call will be resolved by the Prize Committee and the ASAP Executive Committee. Decisions by the Prize Committee and the Executive Committee are final.

Submission guidelines

The books must be mailed to each member of the committee. Email a website link to the book and your contact information to ; you will then receive the mailing addresses.

Print copies are required. Authors with books that are natively electronic and offer no possibility of printed copy may contact the Chair to request consideration. All books must be postmarked by the submission deadline of May 1, 2022. We strongly recommend the use of mailing services with tracking numbers to avoid any issues. Submitted books will not be returned even if they are deemed ineligible. For more information about the prize, including a list of previous winners, visit